Truth

Something God has been teaching me about recently is truth. It was the topic last week of the Bible study I lead. God showed me so much about telling and knowing the truth, so I wanted to share it with you. 

To start, let’s talk about what truth is. Noah Webster defines it as “conformity to fact, true state of facts or things, purity from falsehood, practice of speaking truth, habitual disposition to speaking truth, faithfulness, honesty, virtue, exactness, conformity to rule.” One phrase I want to focus on is “purity from falsehood.” I think that sums up the whole definition well. 

  1. Telling the truth

The first aspect of truth we will be studying is telling the truth. It is so important that we avoid all forms of deceit. We need to make sure that we aren’t just covering up lies, coming up with different ways to excuse our sin, and are telling the whole truth. Not a fib, half truth, or white lie.

If I told my mom I was going over to my my friend’s house to study, what would she expect me to do? Study! But what if I went over to my friend’s house, studied for maybe a minute, and then we watched a movie. Did I lie to my mom? And why do or don’t you think I lied to my mom?

You see, this can be confusing because technically I did tell my mom what we were doing. But I didn’t tell her everything. I only told her half the truth. So I put this in the half truth category. **Disclaimer: I have never done that.

In court, when a witness testifies, they promise that they will tell “the whole truth and nothing but the truth.” The whole truth is important because it can change how we perceive the whole story. 

2. Knowing the truth

We are going to camp out here because it is so important.

“Jesus told him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”
John‬ ‭14:6‬ ‭CSB‬‬

In that verse we see that Jesus is the truth, and we need to know the truth. So how can we know the truth? What are some ways we can know Jesus? Through memorizing scripture, studying the Bible, praying, and worshipping. 

There are so many lies we are told, and we need to know the Bible so that we can combat those lies with truth—with scripture. That is the example that Jesus set for us when He was tempted by Satan. 

What are some lies we are told? What is the truth to combat those lies? Here are a couple to get you started. I really suggest that you take the time to think of lies that you are believing and find Bible verses to point you back to the truth. 

Lie: God doesn’t care.

Truth:

“casting all your cares on him, because he cares about you.”
‭‭1 Peter‬ ‭5:7‬ ‭CSB‬‬

“Lord my God, you have done many things — your wondrous works and your plans for us; none can compare with you. If I were to report and speak of them, they are more than can be told.”
Psalms‬ ‭40:5‬ ‭CSB‬‬

“God, how precious your thoughts are to me; how vast their sum is! If I counted them, they would outnumber the grains of sand; when I wake up, I am still with you.”
Psalms‬ ‭139:17-18‬ ‭CSB‬‬

Lie: God doesn’t know what is best for me.

Truth:

“We know that all things work together for the good of those who love God, who are called according to his purpose.”
‭‭Romans‬ ‭8:28‬ ‭CSB‬‬

“It was I who taught Ephraim to walk, taking them by the hand, but they never knew that I healed them. I led them with human cords, with ropes of love. To them I was like one who eases the yoke from their jaws; I bent down to give them food.”
Hosea‬ ‭11:3-4‬ ‭CSB‬‬

Sidenote on Hosea 11:3-4: God’s cords are there because He loves us.

“The kings of the earth take their stand, and the rulers conspire together against the Lord and his Anointed One: “Let’s tear off their chains and throw their ropes off of us.””
‭Psalms‬ ‭2:2-3‬ ‭CSB‬‬

So often we think we know everything, that we know what is best. We want to throw off those cords that God has made. 

“The one enthroned in heaven laughs; the Lord ridicules them.”
Psalms‬ ‭2:4‬ ‭CSB‬‬

God laughs at us because it is ridiculous for us to even think that we, flawed and sinful people with limited knowledge, know what is best for us, and that we think we can trump an omniscient God! It really is ridiculous. 

When I’d previously thought of truth, I’d only thought of it as telling the truth, but it is so much more than that. I hope you take the time to pray about what lies you might be believing and how you can replace those lies with truth. 

Sincerely,
Sydney

2 Comments Add yours

  1. holytreasurehunter says:

    Thank you for posting this. Truth is such a big aspect of our lives as children of God. Even before I was a christian my dad taught me that truth was everything, that my word was my bond and that honour is based on truth.

    Like

    1. Sydney says:

      You’re welcome! Yes, those are very important lessons to learn!
      Sincerely,
      Sydney

      Like

Join the discussion!